MK:

School of Resistance : Practices from Euromaidan to Belarus

Livestream-Panel

 Werkraum
 1 hour 30 minutes
 English
 Werkraum
 1 hour 30 minutes
 English

How can art contribute to strategies of resistance? How can activists and artists work together as experts of change to build a repertoire (and archive) of strategies of resistance? Together with IIPM/Milo Rau, Münchner Kammerspiele invites activists and artists to look back on the protests of the past years in Ukraine and Belarus. What could civil protest achieve against authoritarian power structures? How do the experiences of the two countries differ? Here, the consolidation of the Lukashenka regime with Russian support and the expulsion of many activists and artists; there, the emergence of a democratic Ukraine turned towards Europe, which remains however in a permanent state of crisis due to war and occupation. How do civil society and artists look back on the Euromaidan protests in 2013/14 and the democracy movement in Belarus from summer 2020? What can be expected from the future? Which forms of solidarity are being expected?

In Munich, the “School of Resistance” brings together director and artistic director Stas Zhyrkov (Left Bank Theatre, Kyiv) and director Vlad Troitskyi, who, as founder of the transdisciplinary Gogolfest, has been organising festivals throughout Ukraine for years. In addition, the activist and local politician Polina Gordienko will look at the situation in Belarus. Born in Ulan-Ude, Russia, and raised in Minsk, the Munich-based activist has acted as the voice of the Belarusian democracy movement in Germany since the rigged presidential election in August 2020. In conversation with Kasia Wojcik, who will lead the discussion as curator of the “School of Resistance”, the panel will also look at the current humanitarian emergency on the Belarusian border. The situation of refugees in need of protection once again reveals that human rights are repeatedly in crisis at Europe’s external border. What does the current situation demand of civil society and the European Union?

In search of strategies of resistance, Milo Rau, the IIPM (International Institute of Political Murder) and the NTGent founded a globally networked “School of Resistance” as a livestream debate series in May 2020. Now, as a symbolic institution of the future, it is landing at the Münchner Kammerspiele and, together with the artistic “Sisterhood Kyiv-Munich”, is questioning civil and artistic practices of resistance. Within the framework of the Sisterhood, the Münchner Kammerspiele aims to form a stable network with civil society actors and artists in Kyiv, Munich and beyond.

In cooperation with the IIPM/Milo Rau and the NTGent

The "School of Resistance" is supported by the Performing Arts Fund with funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media within the framework of NEUSTART KULTUR.
  • With: Polina Gordienko, Vlad Troitskyi, Kasia Wojcik, Stas Zhyrkov
MK Projects Sisterhood
Entfernte Nachbar*innen Kyiv-München
Усі дати з одного погляду. Overview of all dates.
Tickets
Fri 17.12. 17:00 – 18:30
Sisterhood Festival: Entfernte Nachbar*innen
School of Resistance : Practices from Euromaidan to Belarus
  • Werkraum
  • 1 hour 30 minutes
  • English

MK:

School of Resistance : Practices from Euromaidan to Belarus

Gespräch aus dem Werkraum
in englischer Sprache

 Livestream
 1 Stunde 30 Minuten
 Englisch
 Livestream
 1 Stunde 30 Minuten
 Englisch

Wie kann Kunst zu Strategien des Widerstands beitragen? Wie können Aktivist*innen und Künstler*innen gemeinsam als Expert*innen des Wandels ein Repertoire (und Archiv) von Strategien des Widerstands aufbauen? Gemeinsam mit dem IIPM/Milo Rau laden die Münchner Kammerspiele Aktivist*innen und Künstler*innen ein, die gemeinsam auf die Proteste der vergangenen Jahre in der Ukraine und in Belarus zurückblicken. Was konnte ziviler Protest ausrichten gegen autoritäre Machtstrukturen? Inwiefern unterscheiden sich die Erfahrungen aus beiden Ländern: Hier die Festigung des Lukaschenka-Regimes mit russischer Unterstützung und die Vertreibung vieler Aktivist*innen und Künstler*innen, dort der Aufbruch zu einer Europa zugewandten, demokratischen Ukraine, die aber durch Krieg und Besetzung in einem dauerhaften Krisenzustand verharrt. Wie blicken Zivilgesellschaft und Kunstschaffende zurück auf die Euromaidan-Proteste 2013/14 und auf die Demokratiebewegung in Belarus ab Sommer 2020? Was ist von der Zukunft zu erwarten? Welche Formen der Solidarität werden erwartet?

Die „School of Resistance“ an den Münchner Kammerspielen versammelt Regisseur und Intendanten Stas Zhyrkov (Left Bank Theatre, Kyiv) sowie den Regisseur Vlad Troitskyi, der als Gründer des transdisziplinären Gogolfest seit Jahren in der ganzen Ukraine Festivals veranstaltet. Außerdem wird die Aktivistin und Lokalpolitikerin Polina Gordienko auf die Situation in Belarus blicken. Im russischen Ulan-Ude geboren und in Minsk aufgewachsen, fungiert die Münchnerin seit der gefälschten Präsidentschaftswahl im August 2020 als Stimme der belarusischen Demokratiebewegung in Deutschland. Im Gespräch mit Kasia Wojcik, die als Kuratorin der “School of Resistance” durch das Gespräch führen wird, blickt das Panel auch auf die gegenwärtige humanitäre Notlage an der belarussischen Grenze. Die Situation der schutzbedürftiger Flüchtenden offenbart einmal erneut, dass an der europäischen Außengrenze immer wieder die Menschenrechte in Krise geraten. Was verlangt die gegenwärtige Lage der Zivilgesellschaft und der europäischen Staatengemeinschaft ab?

Auf der Suche nach Strategien des Widerstands gründeten Milo Rau, das IIPM (International Institute of Political Murder) und das NTGent im Mai 2020 eine global vernetzte „School of Resistance“ als Livestream-Debattenreihe. Nun landet sie als symbolische Institution der Zukunft an den Münchner Kammerspielen und hinterfragt gemeinsam mit der künstlerischen „Sisterhood Kyiv-München“ zivile und künstlerische Praktiken des Widerstandes. Im Rahmen der Sisterhood verzahnen und vernetzen sich die Münchner Kammerspiele dauerhaft mit zivilgesellschaftlichen Akteur*innen und Künstler*innen in Kyiv, München und darüber hinaus.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem IIPM/Milo Rau und dem NTGent

Die “School of Resistance” wird gefördert vom Fonds Darstellende Künste aus Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen von NEUSTART KULTUR.
MK forscht Sisterhoods - Internationale Partnertheater
Entfernte Nachbar*innen Kyiv-München
Усі дати з одного погляду. Alle Termine im Überlick.