Photo: Gianmarco Bresadola

MK:

Oasis de la impunidad (Oase der Straflosigkeit)

An investigation into the origins and mechanisms of violence
World premiere

 1 hour 30 minutes
 Spanish with German & English surtitles
 Premiere: 7.4.2022; Stroboscope Light
 10 bis 41 Euro, 8 Euro reduced
 1 hour 30 minutes
 Spanish with German & English surtitles
 Premiere: 7.4.2022; Stroboscope Light
 10 bis 41 Euro, 8 Euro reduced

Eight bodies move across the stage in mysterious convulsions. They march, exercise and celebrate – but it remains unclear whether their movements are expressions of suffering or joy, pride or fear. Together they form a police body: a mechanical and convulsive organism composed of strictly disciplined bodies. They undergo training to apply violence against themselves and others – and once something is inscribed in the body, it runs through all levels of being and life. Keep order! That is the command. In an abstract museum space, police officers, victims and fantastical figures of evil meet for an eerie carnival.

Oasis de la impunidad is a study of bodies on the street as both objects and, above all, subjects of violence. How is power transformed into forms of biopolitical strategies, surveillance and oppression that injure, mutilate and desecrate the human body? In grotesque and spectral landscapes, Oasis de la impunidad performs a ritual of confession, atonement and denunciation.

Marco Layera and his company La Re-sentida (The Resentful) create a choreographed study on the nature of violence. Their examination of the systemic and individual motivations for violence and the responsibility for its consequences focuses in particular on the perpetrators. What is the link between individual beliefs and violent disciplining? Who is pulling the strings from behind the scenes? Can there ever be justice where there has always been impunity? The play deals with the question of the legitimate and appropriate application of violence in a democracy: Who utilises and who controls the state’s monopoly over the use of force?

As a pilot project for international collaborations, the play was rehearsed in Santiago de Chile as part of the Münchner Kammerspiele’s artistic research field “remembrance as work on the present”. This was preceded by a theatre lab for which over 500 people from all over Chile working in the arts and civil society applied, and from which 200 were selected to participate in workshops. The experiences and stories of these people are the starting point for this play which examines the origins and consequences of violence.

Marco Layera:

“We neither intend to nor believe that we should territorially and symbolically transpose what is happening on the streets onto the stage. To take what is happening outside literally or to reproduce its semiotic and semantic resources would be aesthetically and ethically inappropriate. What is more, a visit to the theatre should not lead to a demobilisation of the protests on the streets.

Theatre audiences are thus not invited to witness what is happening on the street. Conversely, the performative power of outside events challenges us as theatre makers and throws us, too, into a state of crisis. It requires our art to reinvent itself so it can play a part in social processes. Art is challenged to (re)gain its subversive and transformative capacity. As artists, we are invited to take a step into the unknown and the uncertain, to get lost, to take risks and to expose ourselves to constant danger. Oasis de la impunidad is an artistic essay which owes nothing to reality but which feels absolutely committed to it.”

This was preceded by a theatre lab, sponsored by the international relief fund of the German Foreign Ministry and the Gothe Institut, for which over 500 people from all over Chile working in the arts and civil society applied, and from which 200 were selected to participate in workshops.

A production of Teatro La Re-sentida and Münchner Kammerspiele in co-production with Matucana 100 and Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz.
In cooperation with the Foundation Remembrance, Responsibility and Future (EVZ) and with funds from the German Federal Ministry of Finance.
With the kind support of the Goethe-Institut and the Instituto Cervantes Munich.
  • With: Diego Acuña, Nicolás Cancino, Lucas Carter, Mónica Casanueva, Carolina Fredes, Imanol Ibarra, Carolina de la Maza, Pedro Muñoz, Walter Hess
  • Direction: Marco Layera
  • Dramaturgy: Elisa Leroy, Martín Valdés-Stauber
  • Scenic Artists: Sebastián Escalona, Cristian Reyes
  • Costume Design: Daniel Bagnara
  • Assistant Director: Humberto Adriano Espinoza, Katherine Maureira
  • Artistic Production Management: Victoria Iglesias
  • Sound Design: Tomás Gonzales, Andrés Quezada
  • Technical Production Management: Karl Heinz Sateler
Dates & Tickets
Thu 26.5.
MK unterwegs Theater Matucana 100
Fri 27.5.
Theater Matucana 100 MK unterwegs
Sat 28.5.
Theater Matucana 100 MK unterwegs
Sun 29.5.
Theater Matucana 100 MK unterwegs
Oasis de la impunidad (Oase der Straflosigkeit)
  • 1 hour 30 minutes
  • Spanish with German & English surtitles
  • Premiere: 7.4.2022; Stroboscope Light
  • 10 bis 41 Euro, 8 Euro reduced

Foto: Gianmarco Bresadola

MK:

Oasis de la impunidad (Oase der Straflosigkeit)

Eine Untersuchung zu den Ursprüngen und Mechanismen von Gewalt
Uraufführung

 Schauspielhaus
 Premiere: 7.4.2022
 1 Stunde 30 Minuten
 Spanisch mit deutschen & englischen Übertiteln
 Stroboskopeffekte
 10 bis 41 Euro, 8 Euro ermäßigt
 Schauspielhaus
 Premiere: 7.4.2022
 1 Stunde 30 Minuten
 Spanisch mit deutschen & englischen Übertiteln
 Stroboskopeffekte
 10 bis 41 Euro, 8 Euro ermäßigt

In geheimnisvollen Zuckungen bewegen sich acht Körper über die Bühne. Sie marschieren, trainieren und feiern – doch bleibt unklar, ob Leid oder Freude, Stolz oder Angst aus ihren Bewegungen spricht. Gemeinsam bilden sie einen Polizeikörper, einen mechanischen und krampfenden Organismus, der sich aus streng disziplinierten Körpern zusammensetzt. Sie durchlaufen eine Erziehung zur Gewalt gegen sich und andere — und was einmal in den Körpern eingeschrieben ist, durchzieht alle Ebenen des Seins und Lebens. Ordnung wahren! lautet das Gebot. In einem abstrakten Museumsraum treffen sich Polizist*innen, Opfer und fantastische Figuren des Bösen zu einem schaurigen Karneval.

Oasis de la Impunidad ist eine Studie über die Körper auf der Straße, als Objekte, aber vor allem auch als Subjekte von Gewaltausübung. Wie wird Macht in Formen von biopolitischen Strategien, Überwachung und Unterdrückung umgewandelt, die den menschlichen Körper verletzen, verstümmeln und profanieren? In grotesken und gespenstischen Landschaften vollzieht Oasis de la Impunidad dabei ein Ritual der Beichte, Sühne und Denunziation.

Marco Layera und seine Kompanie La Re-sentida (The Resentful) entwerfen eine choreographische Skizze über die Natur der Gewalt. Die Untersuchung der systemischen und individuellen Beweggründe für Gewalt und der Verantwortung für dessen Folgen nimmt insbesondere die Seite derjenigen in den Blick, die Gewalt ausüben. Wie verknüpfen sich individuelle Überzeugung und gewaltvolle Disziplinierung? Wer zieht im Hintergrund die Fäden? Kann es dort Gerechtigkeit geben, wo immer Straflosigkeit geherrscht hat? Das Stück verhandelt dabei die Frage nach der legitimen und angemessenen Anwendung von Gewalt in einer Demokratie: Wer nutzt und wer kontrolliert das Gewaltmonopol des Staates?

Als Modellvorhaben zur Arbeit in internationalen Konstellationen konnte das Stück in Santiago de Chile, im Rahmen des künstlerischen Forschungsfeldes “Erinnerung als Arbeit an der Gegenwart” der Münchner Kammerspiele, geprobt werden. Vorangegangen war ein Theaterlabor auf das sich über 500 Menschen aus Kunst und Zivilgesellschaft aus ganz Chile beworben hatten, von denen 200 Personen zu Workshops eingeladen worden sind. Die Erfahrungen und Erzählungen dieser Menschen sind der Ausgangspunkt für diese Stückentwicklung, die Ursprünge und Auswirkungen von Gewalt untersucht.

Marco Layera:

„Wir haben weder die Absicht, noch sind wir der Meinung, dass wir das Geschehen auf der Straße territorial und symbolisch auf eine Bühne verlagern sollten. Das, was dort geschieht, wörtlich zu nehmen oder die semiotischen und semantischen Ressourcen zu reproduzieren, wäre ästhetisch und ethisch unangemessen. Auch soll der Theaterbesuch nicht zu einer Demobilisierung der Proteste auf der Straße führen.

Das Theaterpublikum ist nicht dazu eingeladen, Zeuge dessen zu werden, was auf der Straße passiert. Umgekehrt fordert die performative Kraft dessen, was draußen geschieht, uns als Theatermacher*innen heraus und versetzt auch uns in einen Zustand der Krise. Sie verlangt von unserer Kunst, sich neu zu erfinden, um an sozialen Prozessen mitwirken zu können. Die Kunst ist herausgefordert, ihre subversive und transformative Fähigkeit (wieder)zuerlangen, und lädt uns als Künstler*innen dazu ein, einen Schritt ins Unbekannte und Ungewisse zu wagen, uns zu verirren, Risiken einzugehen und uns in ständige Gefahr zu begeben. Oasis de la Impunidad ist ein künstlerischer Essay, der der Realität nichts schuldet, sich ihr aber absolut verpflichtet fühlt.“

Vorangegangen war ein Theaterlabor, finanziert durch den Internationalen Hilfsfonds des Auswärtigen Amtes und des Goethe Instituts, auf das sich über 500 Menschen aus Kunst und Zivilgesellschaft aus ganz Chile beworben hatten, von denen 200 Personen zu Workshops eingeladen worden sind.

Eine Produktion von Teatro La Re-sentida und den Münchner Kammerspiele in Koproduktion mit Matucana 100 und der Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz
In Kooperation mit der Stiftung Erinnerung, Verantwortung und Zukunft (EVZ) und mit Mitteln des Bundesfinanzministeriums.
Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch das Goethe-Institut und das Instituto Cervantes München.
  • Mit: Diego Acuña, Nicolás Cancino, Lucas Carter, Mónica Casanueva, Carolina Fredes, Imanol Ibarra, Carolina de la Maza, Pedro Muñoz, Walter Hess
  • Regie: Marco Layera
  • Dramaturgie: Elisa Leroy, Martín Valdés-Stauber
  • Ausstattung: Sebastián Escalona, Cristian Reyes
  • Kostüm: Daniel Bagnara
  • Regieassistenz: Humberto Adriano Espinoza, Katherine Maureira
  • Künstlerische Produktionsleitung: Victoria Iglesias
  • Sound Design: Tomás Gonzales, Andrés Quezada
  • Technische Produktionsleitung: Karl Heinz Sateler