MK:

AZADÎ in Progress

Political Prisoners in Iran – and What the Rest of the World Can Do

 Therese-Giehse-Halle
 11.02.2023
 1 hour 30 minutes
 Free admission, free tickets available online or at the box office
 Therese-Giehse-Halle
 11.02.2023
 1 hour 30 minutes
 Free admission, free tickets available online or at the box office

Following the November reading of “Die Unbeugsamen - Über den Aufbruch im Iran”, the Münchner Kammerspiele, in cooperation with PEN Berlin, is continuing to host solidarity events with “AZADÎ in Progress”, a panel discussion about the revolution in Iran and the situation concerning political prisoners in the country.

Since the murder of 22-year-old Jîna Mahsa Amini on 16 September 2022, the people of Iran have embarked on a broad-based protest movement demanding the overthrow of the regime which is, in turn, attempting to violently suppress the protests. More than 18,000 people have now been arrested; at least 40 of them have been sentenced to death for »waging war against God« or »spreading corruption on earth«. On 8 December 2022, the first protester, 23-year-old rapper Mohsen Shekari, was executed. We want to focus on the situation of political prisoners including the rappers Toomaj Salehi, Saman Yasin and Behrad Alikonari.

Together with Ronya Othmann and her guests, we will be discussing questions including: What effect does working with voices critical of the regime have on the protests in Iran? What role do these voices play in media reporting in Germany? What form can solidarity take? What has to happen for AZADÎ to become a reality?

A cooperation with PEN Berlin.

  • Moderation: Ronya Othmann
Dates & Tickets
Sat 11.2. 19:30
AZADÎ in Progress
  • Therese-Giehse-Halle
  • 11.02.2023
  • 1 hour 30 minutes
  • Free admission, free tickets available online or at the box office

MK:

AZADÎ in Progress

Politische Gefangene im Iran – und was der Rest der Welt tun kann

 Therese-Giehse-Halle
 11.02.2023
 1 Stunde 30 Minuten
 Eintritt frei, Zählkarten online oder an der Abendkasse
 Therese-Giehse-Halle
 11.02.2023
 1 Stunde 30 Minuten
 Eintritt frei, Zählkarten online oder an der Abendkasse

Nach der Lesung im November „Die Unbeugsamen – Über den Aufbruch im Iran“ setzen die Münchner Kammerspiele in Kooperation mit dem PEN Berlin die Solidaritätsformate mit der Veranstaltung: „AZADÎ in Progress“ fort. Das Panel blickt auf die Revolution im Iran und die Situation politischer Gefangener.

Seit der Ermordung der 22-jährigen Jîna Mahsa Amini am 16. September haben sich die Menschen im Iran zu einer breiten Protestbewegung zusammengeschlossen und fordern den Sturz des Regimes. Dieses versucht die Proteste gewaltsam niederzuschlagen. Mehr als 18.000 Menschen wurden inzwischen festgenommen, mindestens 40 von ihnen sind wegen »Krieg gegen Gott« oder »Verdorbenheit auf Erden« zum Tode verurteilt. Am 8. Dezember wurde der erste Demonstrant, der 23-jährige Rapper Mohsen Shekari hingerichtet. Wir richten den Blick auf die Situation politischer Gefangener. Unter ihnen sind auch die Rapper Toomaj Salehi, Saman Yasin und Behrad Alikonari.

Zusammen mit Ronya Othmann und von ihr geladenen Gästen diskutieren wir: Welche Rolle spielt die Arbeit mit dem regimekritischen Wort für die Proteste im Iran? Welche in der medialen Berichterstattung in Deutschland? Wie kann Solidarität aussehen? Was muss passieren, damit AZADÎ Wirklichkeit wird?

Eine Kooperation mit dem PEN Berlin.

  • Moderation: Ronya Othmann
Termine & Tickets
Sa 11.2. 19:30
AZADÎ in Progress
  • Therese-Giehse-Halle
  • 11.02.2023
  • 1 Stunde 30 Minuten
  • Eintritt frei, Zählkarten online oder an der Abendkasse