This page has not been translated into English. The page will be displayed in German.

MK:

The Shire

Patriotism in Silicon Valley and the blurred relationship between popular culture and ideology

 Treffpunkt Schauspielhaus
 20 minutes
 Admission free
 Treffpunkt Schauspielhaus
 20 minutes
 Admission free

 ‘The Shire’ is the homeland of the hobbits in J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings. Anduril, the flame of the West, is the sword with which Aragon wages war against evil. Palmer Luckey, ex-CEO of Oculus Rif – the VR headset manufacturer that was sold to Facebook – would also like to wage war against evil. He had named the start-up he founded in 2016 ‘Anduril Industries’. Its mission is to aid the US military and police authorities with the latest artificial intelligence-supported solutions in the fight against illegal immigration on the Mexican border. Silicon Valley technological war games with clear battle fronts.

Here we get a glimpse of a Silicon Valley trend, one that openly positions itself as patriotic: one that takes place within a network of staffing overlaps with Palantir – Anduril’s ideological brother – and other unicorn start-ups. On top of this, there are links to the alt-right scene and a capital flow connecting everyone, as well as a shift towards popular culture in the narrative structuring the company’s identity, effected through the appropriation of the Lord of the Rings universe’s mythology.

What does this form of retranslating the virtual back into reality mean for our understanding of virtual reality? And what does the non-architectonic regulation of space mean for a society?

MK Artist in Residence Luis August Krawen is setting up a video installation arbour in the Kammerspiele’s Charlottenhof that is accessible to visitors one at a time. Making use of the metaphor of the ‘The Shire” as ultimate homeland fantasy coined by Palantir and Anduril, he examines the dynamics of this development.

Admission is free of charge. Please book a free time slot anyway.

MK:

The Shire

Video-Installation von Luis Krawen

 Treffpunkt Schauspielhaus
 20 Minuten
 Eintritt frei
 Treffpunkt Schauspielhaus
 20 Minuten
 Eintritt frei

„The Shire”, zu Deutsch: das Auenland, ist die Heimat der Hobbits in J.R.R. Tolkiens „Herr der Ringe“. Anduril, die Flamme des Westens, ist das Schwert, mit dem Aragorn in den Kampf gegen das Böse zieht. In den Kampf gegen das Böse ziehen möchte auch Palmer Luckey, Ex-CEO des an Facebook verkauften VR-Brillen-Herstellers Oculus Rift. Anduril Industries nennt er sein 2016 gegründetes Start-up, das US-amerikanisches Militär und Polizeibehörden mit neuesten, KI-gestützten Lösungen im Kampf gegen illegale Migration an der mexikanischen Grenze unterstützen soll. Technologisches Silicon-Valley-A-Game mit klaren Fronten.

Hier zeichnet sich das Bild einer Silicon-Valley-Strömung ab, die sich offen patriotisch positioniert: In einem Netz aus personellen Überschneidungen zu Palantir, dem ideologischen Bruder von Anduril, und anderen Unicorn-Start-ups, Querverbindungen in die Alt-Right-Szene, einem alles verbindenden Kapitalfluss – und einer Verschiebung firmenidentiätsstrukturierender Narrative in Richtung Popkultur, durch Aneignung der Mythologie des „Herr-der-Ringe”-Universums.

Was bedeutet diese Form der Rückübersetzung des Virtuellen in die Realität für unser Verständnis von Virtual Reality? Und was die nicht-architektonische Regulierung von Raum für eine Gesellschaft?

MK-Artist in Residence Luis August Krawen stellt eine Gartenlaube in den Charlottenhof der Kammerspiele, eine einzeln begehbare Video-Installation. Er untersucht die Dynamiken dieser Entwicklung unter Rückgriff auf die von Palantir & Anduril geprägte Metaphorik von „The Shire“ als ultimative Heimatphantasie.

Der Eintritt ist frei. Bitte buchen Sie einen kostenfreien Zeitslot.