The Open Border Ensemble

Of the season 2017/18

For years, the Münchner Kammerspiele have been collaborating extensively with theatre directors and teams from all over the world, investing in diversity and broadening cultural and aesthetic discourses. This season, we are inviting artists from Damascus, Syria to join our team as part of the Open Border Ensemble and engage with the cultural life of the city for at least ten months. Their experiences will be at the core of two productions: one by the German director Jessica Glause and another by the Argentinian director Lola Arias. They will map new emotional geographies and challenge the labelled roles imposed on artists coming from countries in war. Within the current context of crises, migration, exile and violence, the aim is to forge a new experiential collaborative path by resisting borders and artist(ic) isolation. This project initiates a transnational theatre, giving space to different narratives from cultural and socio-political contexts to emerge, be shared and negotiated in the democratic, open, and analytical setting theatre offers.

Contact: krystel.khoury@kammerspiele.de

Funded by

Miunikh Damaskus in cooperation with

Kamel Najma

Born in Damascus in 1974, Kamel holds a diploma from the High Institute of Dramatic Arts – Acting Department (2004) and a BA in French Literature (University of Damascus). His professional experience includes interactive theatre, puppetering, children theatre, physical theatre and other workshops with international theatre makers in Syria and abroad (France, Italy, Danemark). He acted in Syrian feature films. Kamel also worked for radio and in dubbing for foreign soap operas.

Majd Feddah

Born in Latakiya in 1982, Majd holds a diploma from the High Institute for Dramatic Arts – Acting Department (2005). He worked as an assistant teacher at the HIDAD. Starting 2012, he played in several plays as part of the Damascus Theatre Lab. His own plays were invited to Arab theatre festivals (Tunisia, Algeria). Majd also features in Syrian feature films and TV series.

Kinan Hmeidan

Born in Damascus in 1991, Kinan holds a Diploma from the Higher Institute for Dramatic Arts – Acting Department (2014). Since he graduated, he tried to develop his acting skills through local theater workshops. He performed with independent Syrian directors (Oussama Ghanam, Samer Omran, Jihad Sa’eed). Kinan acted lately in Syrian feature films and TV Series. Besides his acting, Kinan is a talented DJ, organizing events within the underground damascene music scene.

Jamal Chkair

Born in Swaida in 1976, Jamal hold a diploma from the High Institute of Dramatic Arts – Acting department (2003). He performed in many plays (Phedra, Don Quichotte etc.) also in Can you look at the camera? directed by O. Abu Saada. He participated in Théâtre du Soleil workshops and performed in Avignon Festival with Gilgamesh; Luminato Festival in Canada, Edinburgh International Theatre Festival with One Thousand and one night. Jamal featured also in Syrian films and TV series.

May Al Hares

Born in 1986 in Damascus. With Palestinian roots, May was a national gymnast champion (beam & floor) and medals winner – “Gold” in 2007 at Syrian Woman Championship. After an injury, she turned to dance performing in operettas, ceremonies for international events and musicals in Syria and other Arab countries. Since her arrival to Europe in 2015, May has been enriching her dance experience through out artistic projects. In 2017, she assisted Avâtara Ayuso workshops at Hellerau Europäisches Zentrum der Künste in Dresden with the support of Ifa CrossCulture Programme.

Projects of the Open Border Ensemble

19. Feb 18, 18:00 to 22:00 Hrs
Kammer 2

WELCOME CAFÉ

FOR REFUGEES AND LOCALS / به نوشیدن قهوه خوش آمدید // كافيه مرحباً

Information about The Open Border Ensemble

Das Open Border Ensemble

Der Spielzeit 2017/18

Seit vielen Jahren arbeiten die Münchner Kammerspiele intensiv mit Theaterschaffenden aus der ganzen Welt zusammen, um in Diversität und die Erweiterung kultureller und ästhetischer Diskurse zu investieren. In dieser Spielzeit lädt das Theater SchauspielerInnen aus Damaskus in Syrien ein, die das Team als Open Border Ensemble verstärken und für mindestens zehn Monate Teil des kulturellen Lebens der Stadt sein werden. Diese Erfahrungen bilden das Herz zweier Produktionen, eine der deutschen Regisseurin Jessica Glause und eine der argentinischen Regisseurin Lola Arias. Ihre Arbeiten vermessen neue, emotionale Geografien und hinterfragen die Rollen, die KünstlerInnen aus Kriegsländern oftmals automatisch übergeworfen werden. Vor dem Hintergrund von Krisen, Migration, Exil und Gewalt weltweit ist das Ziel neue empirische und kollaborative Wege zu entdecken, und sich Grenzen und künstlerischer Isolation zu widersetzen. Dieses Projekt initiiert ein transnationales Theater, das Raum schafft, in dem verschiedene Narrative aus kulturellen und sozio-politischen Kontexten entstehen, geteilt und verhandelt werden können, im demokratischen, offenen und analytischen Freiraum, den das Theater bietet.

Kontakt: krystel.khoury@kammerspiele.de

Gefördert von

Miunikh – Damaskus in Zusammenarbeit mit

Kamel Najma

Kamel wurde 1974 in Damaskus geboren und machte neben seinem Abschluss 2004 am Institut für darstellende Künste ein Jahr später auch seinen Bachelor in französischer Literatur an der Universität in Damaskus. Zu seinen Erfahrungen zählen Interaktionstheater, Puppenspiel, Kindertheater, Bewegungstheater und weitere Schauspiel-Workshops von internationalen Theatermachern in Syrien und im Ausland (Frankreich, Italien, Dänemark). Er trat in syrischen Spielfilmen auf. Kamel arbeitete auch beim Radio und als Synchronsprecher für ausländische Seifenopern.

Majd Feddah

Majd wurde 1982 in Latakiya geboren, schloss 2005 seine Ausbildung am Institut für darstellende Künste in der Abteilung Schauspiel ab und arbeitet dort anschließend als Dozent. Von 2012 an spielte er in verschiedenen Stücken als Teil des Damaskus Theater Labors mit. Seine eigenen Inszenierungen wurden zu arabischen Theaterfestivals eingeladen (Tunesien und Algerien). Majd spielt auch Rollen in syrischen Spielfilmen und TV-Serien.

Kinan Hmeidan

Kinan wurde 1991 in Damaskus geboren und schloss 2014 seine Ausbildung am Institut für darstellende Künste in der Abteilung Schauspiel ab. Um seine schauspielerischen Fähigkeiten weiterzuentwickeln, nahm er nach seinem Abschluss an weiteren lokalen Theaterworkshops teil. Er arbeitete mit einigen der noch in Syrien aktiven, freien Regisseure zusammen (Oussama Ghanam, Samer Omran, Jihad Sa'eed). Zuletzt spielte Kinan in syrischen Spielfilmen und TV-Serien mit. Neben der Schauspielerei ist er ein talentierter DJ und organisiert Veranstaltungen für die Musik-Szene in Damaskus’ Untergrund.

Jamal Chkair

Jamal wurde 1976 in Swaida geboren und schloss 2003 seine Ausbildung am Institut für darstellende Künste in der Abteilung Schauspiel ab. Er spielte in in vielen Theaterstücken (Phedra, Don Quichotte etc.) und auch in Can you look at the camera? von O. Abu Saada mit. Er nahm an Workshops des Théâtre du Soleil teil und war beim Avignon Festival zu Gast mit Gilgamesh; mit One Thousand and one night gastierte er beim Luminato Festival in Kanada und beim Edinburgh International Theater Festival. Jamal spielte auch in syrischen Spielfilmen und TV Serien mit.


May Al Hares

May Al Hares wurde 1986 in Damaskus mit palestinensischen Wurzeln geboren. Sie war ein nationaler Gymnastik Champion (Barren und Bodenturnen) und Medalliengewinnerin, 2007 gewann sie Gold bei der Syrischen Damen Meisterschaft. Sie wandte sich nach einer Verletzung dem Tanz zu, hatte Auftritte in Operetten, Zeremonien für internationale kulturelle Veranstaltungen und Musicals in Syrien und anderen arabischen Ländern. Seit ihrer Ankunft in Europa in 2015 hat May ihre Tanzerfahrung durch künstlerische Projekte vertieft. 2017 assistierte sie, mit der Unterstützung des ifa CrossCulture Programms, der spanischen Choreografin Avâtara Ayuso bei Workshops in Hellerau - Europäisches Zentrum der Künste in Dresden.

Projekte des Open Border Ensembles

22. Jun 18, 20:00 Uhr
Kammer 1

WHAT THEY WANT TO HEAR

EIN PROJEKT VON LOLA ARIAS UND DEM OPEN BORDER ENSEMBLE. TEXT: LOLA ARIAS, IN ZUSAMMENARBEIT MIT RAAED AL KOUR / AUF DEUTSCH, ARABISCH UND ENGLISCH, MIT ÜBERTITELUNG

19. Feb 18, 18:00 bis 22:00 Uhr
Kammer 2

WELCOME CAFÉ

FÜR ALLE! به نوشیدن قهوه خوش آمدید // كافيه مرحباً

Broschüre über das Open Border Ensemble