Munich New Playwriting Award 2023

The Department of Arts and Culture of the City of Munich, the Drei Masken Verlag and the Münchner Kammerspiele are offering the Munich New Playwriting Award 2023. The prize includes prize money of 15,000 euros offered by the Edith and Werner Rieder Foundation.


The award is intended for artists at the beginning of their career who have had no more than two works, that have already been premiered in the theatre, and who are not yet represented by a theatre publisher in the German-speaking region.

Applications must include the following documents:

- 10 pages of exemplary excerpts from a completed text
- a synopsis of this play of 1 page
- an exposé (max. 3 pages) for a second play to be developed in the context of a residency in cooperation with the Münchner Kammerspiele
- a curriculum vitae in table form with contact details

The above documents must be submitted either in German or in an English translation. The source language is free.

Only one finished work and one additional synopsis may be submitted per author which must be sent together in one PDF file to


In the run-up to the awarding of the Munich Prize for New Playwriting, a jury nominates five authors from among the applicants, who are invited to spend two months in residency in Munich. The purpose of this residency is to develop a new writing project in exchange with the Kammerspiele, and ends with the with the awarding of the prize at the Long Night of New Drama in July 2023 at the Kammerspiele.

The Münchner Kammerspiele will enter into an ongoing two-year working relationship with the prize winner. Initially the play awarded the Münchner Förderpreis will be premiered. In addition, a second joint project will be developed.

Prize money / options

The amount of the New Playwriting Award awarded by a jury is 10,000 euros. The residency is endowed with 3,500 euros per author; 1,000 euros of this comes from the from the Edith and Werner Rieder Foundation.

The five candidates nominated for the New Playwriting Award will also be provided with accommodation in Munich.

Drei Masken Verlag offers the prize-winner the opportunity to become a member of the publishing house. The award ceremony is scheduled for July 2023 at a Long Night of New Drama as part of the of the programme “New times, new drama” at the Münchner Kammerspiele.

The Münchner Kammerspiele will receive a time-limited premiere option on all plays nominated for the prize.


The jury is made up of representatives of the cultural department of the of the City of Munich, the Münchner Kammerspiele, the Drei Masken Verlag as well as external experts.

For detailed information on the jury, please visit the website (see Literature Funding and Scholarships).


15 September 2022: Closing date

May / June 2023: Residency phase for five authors to develop the new writing project

July 2023: Long Night of New Drama with awarding of the sponsorship prize

Please send your documents by 15.9.2022 exclusively by e-mail in a PDF file to

Group 3
Announcement for the Munich Prize for New Drama 2023 (German)
92 KB Download 
Group 3
Announcement for the Munich Prize for New Drama 2023 (English)
88 KB Download 