MK:

Habitat @ Home

A digital workshop with Doris Uhlich

Doris Uhlich is inviting everyone to a virtual physical network in the shape of a workshop and dancefloor. Here she shares her interest in working with naked bodies, and brings habitats to life within her own four walls. The workshop is divided into two phases: dancing with clothes, and then without them (here the computer cameras are turned away and covered). The ‘habitat’ format challenges common conceptions of body, dance and nakedness. In Habitat @ Home, those who share an interest in dance meet with each other online. Though it’s true that the resulting internet dance ensemble cannot touch each other’s sweaty skin, despite everything the workshop creates a utopian habitat, a separate virtual space of diversity in which naked bodies swing to techno beats and immerse themselves in an archaeological exploration of bodily energy.

At the end of the workshop, Doris Uhlich asks the participants to make a brief close-up video of their vibrating bodies (with a smartphone camera, for example) that will be sent to the Münchner Kammerspiele. A visual archive of lively energy will emerge that the Münchner Kammerspiele will then make public.

 

With her work, Doris Uhlich challenges popular formats and body images: She shows the potential of nakedness beyond ideology and provocation, examines the relationship between human and machine, and grapples with the future of the body in an era in which it is always being ‘perfected’ through surgery and genetic engineering. With her piece ‘Every Body Electric’, she tours the world (appearing at the Venice Dance Biennale, São Paulo’s Sesc Dance Biennale, and many other festivals).

 

The workshop is in English.

Prior knowledge is not required. Anyone can participate

 

The Habitat @ Home digital workshop with Doris Uhlich has connected dancing, naked bodies via screens. More than 80 people have danced in their homes to DJ sets by Boris Kopeinig and raised the roof between their own four walls. The video artist Su Steinmassl made this clip from the participants’ self-filmed videos. Have fun!            

 

‘The Internet is an elastic connecting platform, and the virtual Zoom window opens up the prospect of a communal dance floor. Ping!’ (Doris Uhlich)

Tickets
Mou 14.6. 19:00 – 20:30

MK:

Habitat @ Home

Digitaler Workshop mit Doris Uhlich

Doris Uhlich lädt zu einer virtuellen körperlichen Vernetzung in Form eines Workshops und Dancefloors ein, in der sie ihr Interesse an der Arbeit mit dem nackten Körper teilt und Habitate in den eigenen vier Wänden ins Leben ruft. Der Workshop ist in zwei Phasen geteilt: Tanzen mit Kleidung und Tanzen ohne Kleidung (hier werden die Computerkameras gedreht, abgedeckt). Das Format „Habitat“ sprengt gängige Vorstellungen von Körper, Tanz und Nacktheit. In Habitat @ Home treffen sich Tanzinteressierte online, das entstehende Netztanzensemble kann sich zwar nicht Haut auf Haut schwitzend berühren, jedoch entfaltet der Workshop allen Widerständen zum Trotz ein utopisches Habitat, einen geteilten virtuellen Raum der Vielfalt, in dem nackte Körper zu Techno Beats schwingen und eine Archäologie der körperlichen Energie betreiben.

Doris Uhlich stellt mit ihren Arbeiten gängige Formate und Körperbilder in Frage: Sie zeigt die Potenziale von Nacktheit jenseits von Ideologie und Provokation, untersucht die Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Maschine oder setzt sich mit der Zukunft des Körpers im Zeitalter chirurgischer und genetischer Perfektionierung auseinander. Mit ihrem Stück Every Body Electric tourt sie weltweit (u. a. Tanz Biennale Venedig, Bienal Sesc de Dança São Paulo).

Der Workshop findet in deutscher Sprache statt. Bei Bedarf wird gerne ins Englische übersetzt.
Es braucht keine speziellen Vorkenntnisse: Jede*r kann teilnehmen

Der digitale Workshop Habitat @ Home mit Doris Uhlich hat über die Bildschirme tanzende, nackte Körper vernetzt. Über 80 Menschen haben zu DJ-Sets von Boris Kopeinig in ihrem Zuhause getanzt und die eigenen vier Wände zum Beben gebracht. Aus von den Workshopteilnehmer*innen selbstgefilmten Videos hat die Videokünstlerin Su Steinmassl diesen Clip gemacht. Viel Freude! "Das Internet ist eine elastische, verbindende Plattform, die virtuellen Zoom-Fenster öffnen den Blick auf einen gemeinsamen Dancefloor. Ping!“ (Doris Uhlich)
Tickets
Mo 14.6. 19:00 – 20:30